top of page

10 Places in the Bay Area to Order Takeout From Right Now

Hey everyone! I hope you're staying safe and having a great weekend so far. With most restaurants being closed during this time, I wanted to share some of my favorite restaurants to order takeout from.


In the beginning, I was apprehensive towards getting food from other places and preferred to only eat food from home to ensure that everything was clean. But a few months into our county's shelter in place orders, and we began craving our favorite restaurants' dishes again! Though it isn't a top priority during this time, it's still been really nice to get out for a bit and support our local restaurants. In an effort to be safe with the food we eat, we've reheated all of our takeout food to kill off any possible germs. But of course, do what's right for you. Being able to get takeout and afford it during this time is a true blessing in itself for which I am beyond grateful. If you're able to and live near any of these restaurants, I hope you give them a try!


*If any of the photos below were shot at a restaurant, they were taken long before covid-19. All photos are taken by me unless stated otherwise!*


1. Siam Royal Authentic Thai

I was actually quite surprised to see the mixed reviews on Yelp because, if you're asking me, this is my favorite Thai restaurant. I always love coming here and supporting the husband and wife who own and run the restaurant. It's located in Palo Alto on University Ave. Their garlic pepper pork, pad see-ew, pumpkin curry, and duvall beef guay teow (noodle soup) are our favorite things to order. We just went to get takeout here today, actually! Their current payment methods for takeout aren't contactless, but they still wipe down your credit card before and after the transaction. Find them on Yelp here and get directions here.


2. Kizuna

The best place to get Japanese curry and tempura, in my opinion. I feel like I've eaten tempura from at least 20 different restaurants, and Kizuna's is still my top choice. Though it's on the expensive side, their tempura goes beyond the usual shrimp and vegetables with calamari, onions (cut - not in onion ring form), and fish — not to mention, the batter is light, airy, and perfectly crisp. I recommend getting the chicken katsu - not pork - because in my experience the chicken is actually more juicy. Their curry is also like no other with a deep, rich flavor and shredded chicken bits. Kizuna has been super consistent in all the times I've eaten there, and their takeout has been no different. Payment is also contactless. Find them on Yelp here and get directions here.


3. Koi Palace

*photo c/o Koi Palace*

Too bad I can't find any of my own photos of the food at Koi Palace! This will have to do for now. Anyway, out of all the Cantonese restaurants I've eaten at, I'd say Koi Palace is the best. Depending on the location, Koi Palace's takeout menu is a bit more limited than if you were to eat at the restaurant. Dried scallop & egg white fried rice, shrimp & egg gravy chow fun, and roast duck + rice are some of my favorite dishes (all included in the takeout menus I believe). Their dim sum is pretty good too! Find them on Yelp here, view their takeout menus here, and view their locations here.



4. De La Torre's Trattoria

I could not recommend their calamari more it is amazing and definitely one of my favorite things to order. I usually order the linguine alla marinara (from their dinner menu) as well, but replace the marinara sauce for white wine. Also, their seafood always tastes super fresh. The tagliatelle bolognese is good too and I've also loved the dishes on their special menu (daily rotation). De La Torre's is currently doing takeout dinners Monday - Saturday from 5-8:30 PM. Find them on Yelp here and get directions here.


5. Pho Nation

I was really surprised by how much I loved this restaurant to be honest. It's really clean and has been super consistent with all of the dishes my family and I have ordered. Their house special vermicelli with grilled chicken, pork, and shrimp, combo rice plate #2, and Pho Nation combo with beef balls #1 are some of our favorite things to order. Their grilled meats and shrimp are always tender and so so flavorful! Find them on Yelp here and get directions here.


6. Zareen's

Zareeen's chicken tikka masala is creamy and full of rich flavors with tender chicken that has an amazing char-grilled flavor. So, I'd recommend their chicken tikka masala meal which comes with rice and some veggies. Zareen's also has vegetarian and vegan options and is super allergy-friendly. Find them on Yelp here and get directions to their Palo Alto location here, or their Mountain View location here.


7. Orenchi Ramen

After scouring the Bay Area for the best ramen, we've tried practically every top-rated ramen place near us. But, Orenchi is still our top choice. I always order tonkatsu ramen! The key to a good bowl of ramen is the broth. And besides Orenchi's perfectly soft, chewy noodles and paper-thin meat cooked to perfection, their broth is rich, creamy, and full of pork flavor. We got takeout from them a few weeks ago and everything tasted exactly the same including their signature perfectly cooked egg. They didn't skimp out on any of the usual toppings and the portions actually seemed to be slightly bigger. Find them on Yelp here and get directions to Santa Clara location here and Redwood City here.


8. Adamson's French Dip

The meat in this french dip has perfect smokey flavor, and just melts in your mouth! I always add cheese and grilled onions. Definitely not a light meal, but it's worth it! Their menu has plenty of other sandwiches, smoked meat plates, sides, shakes/floats, and desserts, but I'd still recommend the prime rib french dip + cheese. Find them on Yelp here and get directions here.


9. Forthright Oyster Bar & Kitchen

I wish I had a photo but, Forthright's crab cake eggs benedict is my absolute favorite! Though, I'm not sure how it would be to-go. If you reheated the English muffin and crab cake to crisp it up, my guess is that the dish would taste just as good. I'm actually not the hugest fan of oysters - which is what Forthright is known for - but my mom loves their fresh and fried varieties. So, if you ever get a breakfast/brunch craving, I'd recommend Forthright! (Loco moco and fried oysters pictured above) Find them on Yelp here and get directions here.


10. Burger Lounge

I believe I got the "Classic" or the "Lounge Burger" the last time I ate here. In my opinion, the prices are pretty reasonable given that Burger Lounge only serves grass-fed beef, organic cheese, and nitrate-free bacon. Their strawberry shakes are also made with fresh local strawberries, fries are freshly cut + made to order, and they serve vegan, paleo, and gluten-free options. But alas, I stuck to my cheese burger and it definitely did not disappoint! Find them on Yelp here, get directions to their Campbell location here, view all of their locations here, and see the full menu here.


Well, there you have it — the 10 restaurants I recommend getting takeout from right now. I hope you enjoyed reading this post and that it inspired you to satisfy your cravings and support a local restaurant. Ordering food is a luxury, especially during this time. So if you do order food, I hope that you love and appreciate it a little more this time around. I'd love to hear your thoughts on my restaurant recommendations if you try anything!


If you want to see more food, my sister and I have an Instagram account dedicated to it @etiffilyfood !


Thanks for hanging out on the blog today!


bottom of page