top of page

My Book Picks for APAH Month

Hey everyone!


I'm so glad to have you here on my blog again. May is APAH (Asian Pacific American Heritage) Month which recognizes Asian Americans and Pacific Islander Americans as well as their contributions and influence on the history, culture, and achievements of the United States. So, I thought it would be a great time to share some of my favorite books that are written by Asian authors. Being ABC (American born Chinese) myself these books have meant so much to me, so what better time to share them with you all!



I'm too cheap to buy all my favorite books, plus I still love checking out books from the library. Hence, some of the books listed below aren't shown in the photos above. Just in case you're wondering!


1. Year of the Rat by Grace Lin

I read this book when I was around 10 years old and I'm so glad I did. I've read pretty much all of Grace Lin's books and this one is my favorite. This book helped me grow closer to my culture and became an unexpected guide towards the journey of accepting myself, my culture, family, and life. I think every young girl should read this book, especially if they're Asian American. Shop for this book here.







2. Where the Mountain Meets the Moon by Grace Lin

Before this, I had never read a fantasy book that was inspired by Chinese folklore. I may not have realized it then, but that was a truly empowering moment for me. I never knew how interesting Chinese folklore could be and how those stories could be strewn together so beautifully through a fictional story for children. Also, the protagonist, Minli, is one of the most intelligent and courageous girls I've read about in children's stories and is the backbone of this book. Shop for this book here.





3. Loveboat, Taipei by Abigail Hing Wen

Alright, moving on from the children's genre, and onto one of my favorite YA books. Like most YA books, I didn't take this too seriously and was just looking for a lighthearted read. At first, I didn't find most parts of this book relatable/believable but once I got into the story I changed my mind. I finished this in about 3 nights, usually staying up long after midnight because I couldn't put the book down. Loveboat, Taipei is a beautiful story about first love, rebellion, and the importance of learning about yourself and your culture. Shop for this book here.




4. Crazy Rich Asians Trilogy by Kevin Kwan

You're probably living under a rock if you don't already know about this trilogy, or specifically the Crazy Rich Asians movie (based on the first book) that came out in August of 2018. But, I simply could not write this blog post without mentioning this book series. The drama, gossip, and secrets are something that practically every family can relate to on some level, regardless of status. These books are so refreshing and are the perfect "binge read". Beyond that, Kwan's writing is incredibly descriptive and the storylines are outrageous yet believable. Shop for this trilogy here.




5. How to American: An Immigrant's Guide to Disappointing Your Parents by Jimmy O. Yang

Jimmy O. Yang is a standup comedian, as well as film and TV actor. In this book he shares advice for pursuing your passions no matter how disappointed your parents may be, as well as sharing his own stories of moving from Hong Kong to Los Angeles and learning English by watching BET RapCity, to name a few. This book is hilarious and authentic, and an absolute must-read. Shop for this book here, and watch his new standup special here.




6. The Best We Could Do An Illustrated Memoir by Thi Bui

This is an intensely poignant graphic novel relaying Thi Bui and her family's journey from war-torn Vietnam. The art in this book captures thousands of different emotions all in small squares. This story sheds light on the difficult life lived by those who suffered from the fall of South Vietnam in the 1970s, whilst sharing the universal struggles immigrants face. This graphic novel had me in tears, but healed me at the same time. I truly believe that everyone must read this story. Shop for this graphic novel here.




7. Images of America: Chinese in San Jose and the Santa Clara Valley by Lillian Gong-Guy and Gerrye Wong

Hence the title, this book is primarily comprised of archival photographs. But these photographs - most of which I've never seen before - show how the Chinese community in San Jose and Santa Clara was built. This book means so much to me, especially since I'm Chinese American, born and raised in the Bay Area. I was never interested in this book when my mom gave it to me many years ago. But now, I understand the importance of learning about how my culture contributed to the development of the places I've grown up in. The photographs in this book provoked so many different emotions in me. Gong-Guy and Wong write about the Chinese Exclusion Act, as well as how the influx of Chinese immigrants and their innovative ideas helped the valley develop into what it is today — one of the most educated areas in the United States. Shop for this book here.


And...that concludes my roundup of books for APAH month! All of these books celebrate Asian Americans and tell a fraction of our stories. Being American born Chinese will always be one of the greatest honors of my life, and these books have helped me recognize the true power of that. As always, it is my great hope that you finish reading this post feeling inspired and empowered. Whether or not you're Asian American, I highly recommend that you give these books a read. You can learn more about CHCP (Chinese Historical and Cultural Project) here, and APAH month here and here


If you give these books a read, I'd love to hear your thoughts in the comments below!


bottom of page