top of page

What I've Been Watching on Netflix During Quarantine

Hey everyone! I hope you're having a great weekend. I hope my blog has been a source of happiness and inspiration for you as of late. One thing that rarely fails to bring me joy is watching my favorite shows or films. If you have the luxury of growing bored at home — call your loved ones, make something to eat, and watch some good TV! Keep reading for my Netflix picks!



Schitt's Creek: "I could not be more at one with nature. I do Coachella every year." - David Rose

About: "Suddenly broke, the formerly filthy-rich Rose family is reduced to living in a ramshackle motel in a town they once bought as a joke: Schitt's Creek." (description c/o Netflix)


Schitt's Creek is one of those shows that has me laughing until I cry. Dan Levy - who plays David Rose and is the co-creator of the show as well as a contributing writer, director, and producer - has created a beautiful story that always stays close to my heart. This show has the ability to make you laugh at the characters, but once you get to know them you'll be laughing with them. Also, the dialogue is realistic and brilliant, filled with hysterically iconic quotes. Watch Schitt's Creek seasons 1-5 on Netflix!


Selling Sunset

About: "The elite agents at the Oppenheim Group sell the luxe life to affluent buyers in L.A. Relationships are everything, and that often means major drama." (description c/o of Netflix)


The drama, competition, and the luxe LA lifestyle is so addicting to watch and is definitely a guilty pleasure of mine! There are some pretty ridiculously funny quotes, but I think you just have to watch this one for yourself. My sister and I binged this show in about a week lol. Watch Selling Sunset seasons 1 & 2 on Netflix! (Season 3 coming in August 2020)


The Great British Baking Show: "That's a nice bake." - Paul Hollywood

About: "A talented batch of amateur bakers face off in a 10-week competition, whipping up their best dishes in the hopes of being named the U.K.'s best." (description c/o Netflix)


There's something about watching people bake elaborate desserts with such passion and dedication that calms me. Most of the cooking competitions I've seen lean towards the direction of drama and sap stories hoping to reel you in. But what I love about The Great British Baking Show is that all of the contestants are kind to each other and the competition focuses on your personal performance, instead of turning it onto others. Watch Great British Baking Show collections 1-7 on Netflix.


Lady Bird: "Don't you think they are the same thing? Love and attention? - Sister Sarah

About: "An intrepid high schooler in Sacramento undergoes the trials of love, family, and self-discovery as she dreams of escaping to college on the East Coast." (description c/o Netflix)


I think Lady Bird has got to be one of my favorite movies of all time. This film is so comforting for me to watch, but also allows me to explore and question my existing morals and ideals. What I love most about Greta Gerwig's films is the way she portrays her characters. It doesn't matter if it's a main character, or a character with three lines, you'll know them by the end of the film. The mother-daughter relationship in Lady Bird is also realistic — so much so that they remind me of my mom and sister's conversations/disputes. I truly believe that everyone must see this movie, and there's something in it for everyone. Watch Lady Bird on Netflix.


Gilmore Girls: "Reality has no place in our world." - Lorelai

About: "Fiercely independent single mom Lorelai raises gifted, Ivy League-bound daughter Rory amid a continual stream of quick-witted repartee." (description c/o Netflix)


I know Gilmore Girls is nothing new, but I thought I'd include it here anyway since I've been watching it recently. I was bored and picked up this show to see what the hype was all about! Though it's not necessarily my favorite show, I do understand the appeal now and it is fun to watch. I think this show has connected with people because everyone wants to feel like they're part of something. And, when you're watching this show you truly feel like you're a resident in Stars Hollow. Watch Gilmore Girls seasons 1-7 on Netflix.


The Good Place: "What matters isn't if people are good or bad. What matters is, if they're trying to be better today than they were yesterday. You asked me where my hope comes from? That's my answer. " - Michael

About: "Due to an error, self-absorbed Eleanor Shellstrop arrives at the Good Place after her death. Determined to stay, she tries to become a better person." (description c/o of Netflix)


The Good Place is another one of my all-time favorites. I've never watched anything like this show, and I've learned so much from it. Also, this show just never fails to make me feel better. I love the way that The Good Place explores certain topics and ethics, and the way it connects to people and everyday life. Watch The Good Place seasons 1-3 on Netflix, or all four on NBC for free.


Grace and Frankie: "Excuse me, have you ever wondered if Ben and Jerry make more than ice cream together?" - Frankie Bergstein

About: "They're not friends, but when their husbands leave them for each other, proper Grace and eccentric Frankie begin to bond in this Emmy-nominated series." (description c/o Netflix)


I randomly stumbled upon this show and wasn't expecting to like it that much, but it has really grown on me. I love how Grace and Frankie highlights the lives of the elderly and their grown children's lives. This show also represents the different stages of life and how people can form fulfilling relationships regardless of their age or lifestyle. I highly recommend you give Grace and Frankie a try. Watch Grace and Frankie seasons 1-6 on Netflix.


Crash Landing on You

About: "A paragliding mishap drops a South Korean heiress in North Korea — and into the life of an army officer, who decides he will help her hide." (description c/o Netflix)


I know this show has been super popular and I'm pretty late to the train. But, I gave it a try just to see what the hype was about. This Korean drama is super addicting and binge-worthy! Like many other K-dramas, it's only one season. I'm only about halfway through, but so far I'm living for the drama and suspense! Watch Crash Landing on You season 1 on Netflix.


Becoming: "We can't afford to wait for the world to be equal to start feeling seen. We're far from it...So you've got to find the tools within yourself to feel visible and to be heard and to use your voice." - Michelle Obama

About: "Join former first lady Michelle Obama in an intimate documentary looking at her life, hopes and connection with others as she tours "Becoming."" (description c/o Netflix)


This documentary is one of the most uplifting things I've watched in awhile. To hear Michelle Obama speak about her life before, during, and after President Barack Obama's presidency was incredibly inspirational. But, what I found most amazing about Mrs. Obama and her story was that she related and connected with people of all walks of life. Watch Becoming on Netflix!


The Call to Courage: "Vulnerability is not about winning. It's not about losing. It's having the courage to show up when you can't control the outcome." - Brené Brown

About: "With humor and empathy, Brené Brown discusses what it takes to choose courage over comfort in a culture defined by scarcity, fear, and uncertainty." (description c/o of Netflix)


I hadn't read or watched anything from Brené Brown prior to this, so I didn't exactly know what to expect. I ended up being pleasantly surprised and have since read two of her books. What I love most about Brené and her work is that she studies human behavior and therefore understands humanity on a deeper level. She doesn't go on and on about her findings and philosophies, but discusses realistic habits that can combat behavioral patterns we all fall into. I appreciate that her approach is never condescending, but sends a message of, "I've been there too, and I still am". Watch Brené Brown: The Call to Courage on Netflix.


Other shows I want to watch:


A Current Favorite:

Master Chef Jr (on Hulu)


...And that concludes my current Netflix recommendations! If you don't have Netflix, many of the shows/films I mentioned may be available on other streaming services (excluding Netflix Originals). If you have any shows or movies that you're loving right now, I'd love to hear about it in the comments! I hope you love my Netflix picks as much as I do.


bottom of page