top of page

Skincare Session: 'Clear' By Paula's Choice

Well, hello there ;). It feels like forever since I've written a blog post! I wrote about my lack of motivation/inspiration in my last couple of posts, but it's really kicked in in the last few weeks. I also just started school and a SAT prep course which have both kept me busy, sadly. There's much more I could update you on, but that's pretty much the quick run-down for today!


Anyways, today we're talking all things skincare, specifically the Clear line by Paula's Choice. Originally, I had other ideas for this week's blog post, but after giving it some thought I decided to share my thoughts on this skincare collection. I've had my fair share of struggles with acne for quite some time now and I vowed to share the thing(s) that helped my skin clear with as many people as possible, the moment it happened. So today, I'm doing just that!


* By the way, this post is not sponsored by Paula's Choice! Though, maybe I wish it was..just a little. *


Grab a snack and something to drink - this post's a little lengthier! But, I didn't want to leave out any details...

A Little About My Skin

before (wish I had a full face pic)
after 2 months of daily use
the scars that used to be there lightened a bit


Just to give you some context, I've consistently had acne for about 2-3 years now, have sensitive skin, and my skin type is combination (well isn't that just the perfect storm lol). I wouldn't say my acne is too severe, but I definitely struggle with the same spots constantly - my chin, back of cheeks, and blackheads on nose. Additionally, I've got some acne scars hanging out too ;). While I'm not a fan of close-up pictures of my skin, I want you to be able to clearly see how my skin is doing these days. If you can think, Her skin actually looks kind of like mine! Maybe this product will finally work for me, then zoom in on my skin a million times because acne is no joke, and if I can help even just one person out, then I will be extremely happy !


Clear Collection at Paula's Choice

The Clear Collection at Paula's Choice is meant to target acne. The products in this collection are formulated to balance, soothe, and replenish acne-prone skin. They also target clogged pores, stubborn breakouts, and acne scars — all without drying/irritating your skin. Well, it all sounds great, the question is just whether or not the products actually live up to that hype! I should also mention that though I didn't purchase everything, the collection also includes a clay mask, oil-free moisturizer, sunscreen, and acne body spray.


Pricing & What I Purchased

I've seen and tried many different skincare products and whether or not a specific brand/product is affordable is very subjective. Unfortunately, from my experiences if a skincare product is too cheap - let's say under $10 for a full size cleanser - chances are it's going to do more harm than good with extra chemicals. That being said, I don't have a big budget for skincare and though I do believe quality skincare is a good investment, I just can't bring myself to spend hundreds of dollars on products. So, in comparison to "mainstream" skincare (like popular brands sold at Sephora) Paula's Choice's prices are not too steep. I'm not going to call them affordable, but the prices are - in general - pretty reasonable.


What I Purchased:

Clear Regular Strength Kit - on sale right now for $48.40 (usually $60.50)


If you're considering purchasing anything from the Clear line, I'd recommend just going with the kit that comes with the cleanser, exfoliator, and skin clearing treatment. Paula's Choice is currently doing a 20% off all kits/sets sale (while supplies last) which, in my opinion, is a great deal. I mean, some moisturizers or exfoliating products can already be $48 on their own! Plus, I feel like the products are more effective when used in tandem with each other.


Regular Or Extra Strength?

Basically, the collection has the same exfoliating solution and skin clearing treatment in both extra and regular strength. The only difference, as far as I can tell, is that the extra strength skin clearing treatment has 5% benzoyl peroxide and the regular has 2.5%. As for the exfoliating solution, both the regular and extra strength seem to have the same amount of salicylic acid (2%). I think that 5% benzoyl peroxide would be too strong for my skin, but since they advertise the extra strength to be for stubborn acne, and the regular for mild-moderate, I felt like I needed extra strength. Anyways, after watching some review videos on YouTube I ended up going with the regular and am glad I did.


How I Use the Products

It seems pretty self-explanatory, given that the kit only comes with three products - a cleanser, exfoliator, and treatment - but I thought this was still worth sharing. When I first started using the kit, I started slow, only using the exfoliator once a day and the treatment once every other day (cleansing twice daily as usual). Once I knew that my skin wasn't reacting negatively towards the products, I used all three AM and PM daily. Some reviews on YouTube did say that they used the exfoliator like a toner - pouring some product onto a cotton pad and "wiping" their face with it. The exfoliator does resemble a toner in the sense that it comes out of the spout like water. However, I didn't want to waste any product (I feel like 70% of the exfoliant just gets soaked into the cotton pad lol) I pour some into my hand and pat that onto my face. (Kind of like you would with an essence.) As for the treatment, I squeeze a dime-sized amount onto my hand and spread a thin layer onto my face. Recently, I've just been using it as spot treatment and spreading it onto my most troubled areas (also cause I'm running out of product lol). After applying the treatment, I use this moisturizer or this sleeping mask (no need to rinse), and then I'm done!


What I Love

The main thing that Paula's advertised was that these products would treat acne, clogged pores, and acne scars - without causing irritation, dryness, or flaking of the skin. I'm happy to say that they do live up to that promise. As I mentioned, I do have moderately sensitive skin and none of the 3 products in this kit caused irritation or flaking. My skin did have a slight "burning" or tingly sensation when I first used the products, and it still happens from time to time (it's nothing crazy though). If you've used chemical exfoliants and products containing salicylic acid before, you'll know what I mean. Also, I love that the kit comes with 3 products, making my skincare routine quick and simple. Though, my routine actually becomes 4 steps after moisturizing. While my skin isn't perfect, it's so much better off now that I'm using this kit. I really wish I had a picture, but a couple weeks ago I suddenly broke out with maybe 4 pimples in a cluster on my cheek. Within the next week or two, they had gone down (in redness and inflammation) significantly and are now completely gone.


Final Thoughts

Before I end this post, I should also mention the two things I wasn't as happy about. I've been using this kit for a little over a month now, and I'm almost out of all the products - especially the exfoliant. Granted, my sister and I have both been using it twice daily, but still, I don't even know if there's enough to last another month. For the prices, I do wish that the bottles were a little bigger. Also, I don't feel like these products have helped my blackheads and acne scars (a few scars are a bit lighter, though). But other than those things, I'm happy with where my skin is at right now! Everyone's skin and body is different and will of course react to products differently, but I really recommend trying this kit. I feel like my skin is a lot more manageable these days — if a pimple pops up I know it will fade within a week or so if I just keep using these products like I already am.


Alright, I think I covered everything I wanted to ! If you've read until the end, my guess is that you're really hoping to find something that will benefit your skin, so all of my love and luck to you. I know it's hard, but try to love yourself and your skin along the way - they're doing they best they can. <3


If you have tried anything from the Clear Line at Paula's Choice, let me know what you think!



bottom of page