top of page

How I Bought Five Patagonia Jackets for Less Than $200

Happy Monday! I hope you all had a great weekend. I'm so excited to get back into writing blog posts. If you're interested in knowing a little more about what I've been up to and my thoughts on current events, I recently wrote an updates post about that.


Anyone who knows me well knows that I wear my Patagonia Better Sweaters 25/8. I mean, they're so comfortable, cozy, easy to throw on/layer, and go with everything. Still, I can't help but feel like $99 / $139 (quarter zip & full zip are different prices) is too expensive. Since I love these jackets so much, I thought it was only fair that I share how I got them at such a deep discount ($35-$40 each)! I know we're well into the month of June, but it's actually a great time to shop for these jackets because of off-season sales.


So, today I'm going to share how I got the Better Sweaters on such a major sale, current deals you can shop for online, as well as some of my general tips!


The Patagonia Outlet

At the time, I was gifted a Better Sweater for my birthday and wanted to exchange it for a different color. My mom and I drove to the Patagonia Outlet to exchange it and see what other deals were going on. After spending a million hours in that store, I've got some tips for you.

  • Try calling your local outlet to see if any additional sales are happening that day. I got lucky since my outlet was having an extra 30% off fleece items that day, but I think it's a good idea to call/contact your outlet and ask when upcoming sales will be.

  • While you're on the phone, try asking when your outlet gets new shipments in. Certain stores' shipment days fluctuate, but it still doesn't hurt to ask! I wouldn't want to go after a busy day of shoppers wiping out the store, so to ensure it's worth the effort, I'd recommend asking about this.

  • I also recommend going closer to the store's opening time. The outlet closest to my house is still about an hour's drive. Looking back, I think it would've been a good idea to beat the crowd and get there a bit earlier.

  • My last tip is to buy off-season. In my experience, there are higher chances of scoring better deals when shopping off-season. You may want to consider making a trip to the outlet during the warmer months if you're shopping for winter gear and vice versa.

Most of the time you can score a great deal at the outlets when an item style/color is discontinued. I got lucky and found the Birch White color (which rarely goes on sale) at the outlet. I believe it was there because they were updating the style as they've since changed the sources for their fabrics. After spending what felt like 3,857 hours at the outlet, we walked out with a Better Sweater for my mom, sister, uncle, grandma, and me....and the rest is history lol.


Current Sales

Most stores are probably still closed at the moment so I want to share some of the current online sales for these jackets.


First off, if you're more on the petite side I'd recommend trying on the youth girls size large, XL, or XXL. I often see better sales for the kid sizes, especially since the original price is already lower. The only main difference is that the kids' full zip jacket does not have a zipper pocket on the sleeve. The women's fit may be a bit more slim and the stitching placement may be different, but nothing super noticeable.


On another note, if you're at an outlet or shopping online and only see men's sizes left, you may want to consider it. The main difference, besides the fit and cutting, is that the zipper pocket is not on the sleeve but closer to the main zipper.


Women's Better Sweaters:


Kids' Better Sweaters:


Men's Better Sweaters:



Favorite Places to Shop for Sales:

Patagonia Outlet


Second Hand:


I hope this post helps you shop for a Better Sweater at a better price. If you have any tips of your own, please share in the comments! As always, thank you for reading until the end.


bottom of page